Reactor Art & Design Open Nav Close Nav

Fiona Smyth to be inducted into the Giants of the North Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame on May 11, 2019!



Artists are elected to the Giants of the North Hall of Fame by the Doug Wright Awards executive committee, which solicits input and suggestions from across the Canadian cartooning community.

This year’s Giants of the North nominees will be inducted on May 11 at the 15th annual Doug Wright Awards, a featured event of the 2019 Toronto Comic Arts Festival (TCAF), which takes place May 11–12 in and around the Toronto Reference Library.

For more than three decades, Fiona Smyth’s work has straddled art, comics, and murals. Since her days as a student at the Ontario College of Art (now OCAD University) in the mid-1980s, her comics have been marked by a bold and overt sexuality—groundbreaking comics tackling female sexuality. Alongside her countless self-published zines, her comics have appeared in Vice, Exclaim!, and her pioneering 1990s Vortex series, Nocturnal Emissions.

Fiona’s work has been exhibited in countries around the world, including the United States, Mexico, Berlin, France, Venice, Taiwan, Korea, and Japan, and Torontonians are familiar with her eye-catching mural gracing the exterior of iconic local club Sneaky Dee’s, located at the intersection of College and Bathurst streets.

Fiona’s publications include The Never Weres, a science fiction graphic novel for teens, and a series of progressive “sex talk” books for children, created with the writer Cory Silverberg. In 2018, Koyama Press released Somnambulance, a career retrospective of Fiona Smyth’s work to date. Presently, she teaches illustration and cartooning at OCADU.

2019 Doug Wright Awards Ceremony
Forest Hill Ballroom, Marriott Bloor Yorkville
Saturday, May 11th, 2019
8pm – 10pm


May 10, 2019

Vote Carlos Marrero

On Friday Carlos was honored to get a nomination for 2013’s MIAMI Sexiest Artist

Would you vote for him?

To Vote: Click on the image below to link to the website.

Click on 2013 Awards Nominees and scroll down to Sexiest Artist section

Click on tab under Carlos Marrero that says ‘Click Here to vote for Carlos Marrero’

You can vote for multiple nominees, but can not vote multiple times for the same nominee (So use another email! LOL)

Event will be covered by Telemundo 43 and NBC, and will be filmed into a One Hour Special.

++ If you cant figure it out, you can manually send an email to

Type on subject line “Carlos Marrero (Sexiest Artist nominee)“on the subject line to count as one vote


May 29, 2013

TinMan just wrapped a wee little project with Scofield Editorial <> for LabDoor <> . The spots a real Saul Bass kinda thing for this consumer app that provides product safety ratings and reviews.

TinMan did the designs and animation.  Click on the image and take a look.

August 30, 2012

Steve Dunk is a Juno Nominee

Laura Repo‘s new album, Get Yourself Home, has been nominated for Recording Package of the Year. Steve Dunk provided custom type for the album title and track listing. Design by the Production Kitchen. See more samples on their website here, and in this previous post on the reactor blog.

2012_JUNO_AWARD_NOMINEE LauraRepo_Front LauraRepo_Back


Jannie McInnes (Art Director), Robyn Kotyk, Graydon Sheppard, Sammy Rawal, Petra Cuschieri (Designers), Heather Goodchild (Illustrator) Arts&Crafts*EMI
Metals, FEIST
Jayme Spinks (Designer/Photographer), Paul Jerinkitsch (Imaging) Dinah Thorpe (Collaborator) Independent
Jeff Harrison (Designer), Kim Ridgewell (Illustrator) Nineteen- Eight*Independent
Rest of the Story – CHRIS TARRY
Kirsten Gauthier, Anthony Swaneveld (Art Directors), Anthony Swaneveld (Designer),
Steve Dunk
(Illustrator – Font), Janet Kimber (Photographer) Independent
Get Yourself Home LAURA REPO
Taylor Kirk (Art Director/Photographer), Robyn Kotyk (Designer), Nina Nielsen (Photographer) Arts & Crafts*EMI
Creep On Creepin’ On TIMBER TIMBRE
February 9, 2012